Super Intense Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

I see chocolate-related recipes that I want to try all the time, but this recipe for chocolate chip cookies in the New York Times and the related article filled with secrets sounded too good to pass over.  Since the cookies were so large, I halved the recipe and made 9 cookies instead of 18.  I ended up refrigerating the dough for 48 hours; when I pulled it out of the fridge, it was too hard to scoop out, so I let it sit out before molding them by hand.  There seemed to be a huge amount of chocolate in the dough, but since I used discs and not chips, there was a good ratio of cookie-to-chocolate.  I used two percentages of El Rey chocolate discs, 61% and 73.5%.  El Rey chocolate is pretty fruity, so it worked well in the cookies.

The cookies turned out to be tasty and addictive – crispy on the outside, and soft and chewy in the center.  Although I didn’t test to see whether the refrigeration period makes a difference, and vacuum sealing might have the same effect on the dough, the build up to the cookies made them even tastier.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

