Shaman’s Heart: Organic Dark Chocolate with Ruby Raspberries

Shaman's Heart

Ingredients: Organic dark chocolate (organic sugar, organic chocolate liquor [non-alcoholic], organic cocoa butter, soy lecithin*, organic vanilla), and dried raspberries.

After a long, mostly chocolate-free vacation, I can’t wait to dig in to my chocolate stash.  Unfortunately, I’m getting over a cold and cough, and can’t really taste much right now.  I tried this fair trade, organic chocolate bar from Shaman Chocolates late last year.  The company was created by a Huichol shaman and healer, and all profits support Huichol villages in Central America.

At first, I found the bar odd – I’m not sure how to describe the way it melts.  It doesn’t taste really chocolatey, except near the end of the melt.  It’s not creamy exactly, but melts in different globs, and makes me think more of sugar and maybe cocoa butter.  I do like it, though I’m not sure why.  I like the tiny bits of tart raspberry; they remind me of freeze dried fruit, and their size and texture keep the bar from tasting overly sweet.  A pretty good bar, but I’d have to try something else from Shaman Chocolates to get a better sense of their chocolate.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Shaman’s Heart: Organic Dark Chocolate with Ruby Raspberries”

  1. Katie LeBel Says:

    I am the PR Manager for Shaman Chocolates and would be happy to send you a sample of their newest creation – an organic milk chocolate bar with macadamia nuts and hawaiian pink sea salt.

    Please let me know if you are interested and if so, please send your mailing address and e-mail address so I can pass along the press release.

    Thanks for your help spreading the word about Shaman Chocolates!

  2. How To Make Your Low Carb Diet Easy (Substitutions) | High Protein Diet Plan Says:

    […] Shaman’s Heart: Organic Dark Chocolate with Ruby Raspberries « The … […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

